11 January 2013 Mystery meat it isn’t!

I went to the market this morning looking for something other than chicken.  The “chicken lady” (really, some day I will have to find out her name!) had some pork.  So, I asked for a kilo (2.2 lbs.).  This is how I know it is pork.

However, it is totally unrecognisable!  This is a mixture of bone, bone fragments, fat, gristle, and meat.  What do you do with such a mush!  I decided to separate the meat from the bones and trim off what I could and see what was left.  I was thinking a stir fry was the likely option.  And, I was surprised that after all the trimming and boning I was left with 80% of the kilo in usable meat.

(just a note:  I had pictures, but my computer doesn’t want to cooperate in loading them.  Imagine it.  Imagine the most incredible jumble of bones, fat, meat and gristle and you’ve got it.

3 Comments

  1. My most memorable meat dishes were cow’s udder (very strong milk taste) and pork fat in tomato sauce – with the bristles still intact….that, and the fish head I was served at a camp, which I traded with someone. I know it is supposed to be an honor, but I was less than excited about it!!!

    1. Did you ever try the cuy (guinea pig)? When it was first served to me it still had it’s head and claws attached. I had a hard time getting past that….but since then I’ve had some very delicious cuy.

Leave a Reply

