5-14 June 2012″

After Dever/Cheyenne, I went to Denver to visit with my daughter.  She is working at a 400 bed facility for mentally challenged adults as an art therapist.  It was too bad that she had to work much of the time, but we managed to capitalize on the time we did have.  We had many hours of girl talk, knitting and talking even more.

We enjoyed some ethnic meals, which has become a hallmark of my visits there in Chicago.  We usually look for the unusual; this time Greek and Asian. I tried to find foods which are not available in Peru to enjoy.

We also saw the movie “Snow White and the Huntsman.”   Very entertaining fare.  While Mandy was working, I watched the first two seasons of “Desperate Housewives.”  I have often seen advertisements for this show, and thought it would be fun, but never actually watched it.

We shopped quite a bit as well.  We were able to get some clothes, shoes and essentials for Mandy.  I also bought a bunch of groceries and fixed some meals (Mandy has been eating on the job.)

The other item that occupied my time while in Chicago was trying to arrange for a document to be “legalized” at a Peruvian consulate for the immigration office here in Peru.  This is the last document we need to submit for residency.  The document is one that shows Doug has an income from his pension.   Doug had taken this document to the Peruvian consulate in Los Angeles in November last year.  They made a certified copy of the original and affixed their stamp to the copy.  However, the immigration office in Peru insisted that the original be stamped, not a copy.  We were told this needed to be done at a consulate in the states.

I had visited the Peruvian consulate in Denver and was told that they could not legalize it by stamping it.  They told me I needed to get an apostille which is a document issued by the Secretary of State to authenticate a notarized document.  This apostille, they told me, would be all that we needed to satisfy the immigration office in Lima.

So, we visited the Secretary of State office of Colorado.  There I was told that the document needed to be notarized before they could  provide the apostille.  Since the original document was not notarized and was a document produced in the state of Oregon, Colorado couldn’t help me out.  I called Doug’s pension fund office and asked to have a new document printed and notarized.  This would then be mailed to me.

While in Chicago, I again took this document to a Peruvian consulate to see if they would legalize it.  The clerk told me the same thing; that I needed the apostille from the Secretary of State of Oregon.  I then contacted the Secretary of State of Oregon and arranged to have the apostille attached to the notarized document and then sent on to Peru.  After walking long distances in Chicago to accomplish this, I thought it was done.

NOT, the immigration office in Peru refused the document because it did not have the official Peruvian consulate stamp on the original document.  How frustrating!  On my trip I had one last chance to visit a consulate; Miami.  I e-mailed them, attached a copy of the document and asked if they could legalize it.  Thankfully, they responded promptly and told me they couldn’t legalize it because their jurisdiction only covered Florida and Cuba.  This was the first time anyone mentioned jurisdiction; and suddenly it all made sense why none of the consulates I visited would stamp the document.  Los Angeles has jurisdiction over Oregon….but Los Angeles wasn’t on my itinerary.  So, this document will remain in limbo until our next trip to L.A.

 

Leave a Reply

