27 October 2011


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maria arrived today with the Mama Cocha kids.  She is always reluctant to get into the pool and often just sits along the edge while Joana splashes water on her.  Both Monday and today, I tried to engage her with high-fives.  Generally, she responded by intertwining and wrapping her fingers into mine.  There was always a push and pull to this ¨game¨but I was happy just to be engaging her.

 

Today, Maria was leaning into the pool and then pulling back.  It was like she wanted to get in, but then didn´t.  I finally got her close enough that when she leaned forward, I just pulled her in.  At first, she was frightened but she soon began engaging me eye to eye.  She wasn´t quite sure what to do…and it seemed to me she was wondering what she was supposed to do.  After a bit of in-water interaction, she began to relax.  She put her head on my shoulder and allowed me to put my arms around her.  We moved around the pool quietly and she became more relaxed.  I began to sing to her…..truly?  she is the only one who has ever gotten me to sing spontaneously!  She really seemed to enjoy her time in the water although she seemed to be cold.  Maria does not relate well verbally, but has some verbal expressions such as ¨No quiero¨(I don´t want to) and ¨Callate¨(Shut up)….and who knows where they come from.  I tried to maintain eye contact with her and kept a monologue going about what a good girl she was and how great it was that she was in the pool.

Both Moises and Tracy enjoyed interacting with Doug.  At times, Moises was rather aggressive toward Tracy….maybe a bit jealous of the attention she was getting.  He has been raised in a macho masculine environment, and so it is no wonder he feels like the alpha male.

Moises still needs to have surgery to relieve the pressure the liquid surrounding his brain is creating.   He has had all the pre-surgery tests and is only waiting for the funding for the surgery itself.  This should come through in the next 10 days or so.  Meanwhile, his spirits are good and he tells me God has his plan for him.  He´s a fun kid, but needs to learn how to interact appropriately with other kids.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

