27 September 2011

Doug and I have been on a glycemic index diet for the last six months or so.  The basic principle is to control spikes in sugar intake and insulin production.  The object is to keep things even.  One of its basic principals is to balance proteins with good carbs and fiber.  It isn’t necessarily a diet intended to loose weight, but  is intended to improve one’s health.

In the first couple of months, I lost ten pounds.  But then I got stuck….it seemed like no matter what I did, I couldn’t break through the 10 pound mark.  This “plateau” has lasted for a couple of months…if not longer.  It feels like forever!

I’ve been doing aerobic exercises in the pool and we now have a home gym which will build upper body strength.  Even so…things have been static.

The local spa offers a slimming/cellulite reduction series of “massages.”  I decided that this might propel me over the 10 pound plateau.  I put massage in quotes because it has turned out to be a rather aggressive and painful method of eliminating fat.  I have bruises up one side and down the other..  will it work?  We shall see.   So far, I remain committed to losing weight.

1 Comment

  1. I wouldn’t like that rough treatment. I prefer relaxing massages and have been know to fall asleep during one. I’m skeptical of this.

Leave a Reply

