22 April/22 abril 2011

I have finally put the warp on my loom and begun my blanket.  This project has been a challenge in many ways.  First, it is a double width weave; meaning that I am weaving two layers at the same time.  When it comes off the loom, it will be twice as wide as it was on the loom.  I really wanted to use some alpaca and rabbit yarn in the blanket but neither yarns were strong enough for the warp.  So, I used  cotton warp with similar colors, but wasn’t sure if they would combine with the weft to produce the vibrant colors I wanted.  So far, I have been really happy with how it is working out.

Finalmente, pongo el “warp” en mi telar y empieza mi frasada.  Esto proyecto estaba un desafío en muchas maneras.  Primero, es una ancha doble que significa que haciendo dos capas al mismo tiempo.  Cuando saco del telar, la tela estará doble la ancha de cuando estuvó en el telar.  Queiro usar hilos de alpaca y conejo en la frasada pero  no tienen bastante fuerza para el “warp.”  Entonces, usé un warp de algodon con colores similar, pero no estuvé segura si la combinación resulta con los colores brillante que querí.  Hasta eso momento, soy contenta con los resultados. 

Much of my time in the last several days has been devoted to making the curtains or blinds for the bungalows.  I now have the blinds/curtains for two bungalows finished.  The third bungalow will have floor to ceiling curtains all around; I have  two-thirds of the curtains done for this bungalow.  I am ready to be done with this project…it was much more work than I had anticipated.  The hardware for mounting  the blinds as not been easy to find here.  I will probably buy what we need while I am in the states in May.  Ideally, I would like to find miniature pulleys for the blinds and locking mechanisms for each blind.    We haven’t found anything like this here.  Dowels are another item we haven’t found here.

Mucho tiempo en las ultimas semanas estuvó dedicado a haciendo las cortinas para los bungalws.  Ahora tengo cortinas para dos bunglows completan.  El tercero bungalow tendriá cortinas al piso de techo.  Ahora completo dos terceros de las cortinas para el tercero bungalow.  Estoy lista para acabo de esto proyecto;  estaba mucha mas trabajo que me anticipapo  No puedo encontrar los partes que neceito para montar las cortinas en esta zona.  Probablamente, comprará las cosas que necesito en los EEUU cuando estoy alla en mayo.  Espero que puedo encontrar  poleas pequenos para las cortinas y un mecanismo de cerrar para cada una.   No encontramos algo asi acá.  También

2 Comments

  1. Beautiful colors! It is just beautiful. Glad you took close up and more distant pictures to really show your work. You are so talented – you never cease to amaze me.

Leave a Reply

