18 January 2011

control panels

Wow, mid January… already?!?!

Doug and Jim have been putting the solar system together.  These panels have been mounted in the “battery” room which I’ll take over as a “sewing” room.  Things are going slowly, as they usually do in Peru.  One of their favorite sayings is “Poco a poco.”  Meaning bit by bit.  And that’s how it goes.  It can be frutrating; but we just have to realize this is how things go here…slowly.

Battery room

 

Doug and Sanchez have been building a battery room off the back of the service zone.  Since the solar batteries give off hydrogen, they need to be located in a well ventilated area.  Since I want to use the original battery room for a sewing room, the batteries will be located outside.   They will locate a door on this side of the room, and will cover the cane with cement.

Baby quilt for Silvia and Gary
Mickey detail for quilt

After setting aside the blue moon  quilt until I was ready to face its formidable challenges, I began working on a baby quilt for our friends Silvia and Gary.  My sewing machine came with the ability to embroider the Disney characters; so I put these on blocks.  The intervening blocks will have patterns of butterflies, kites, balloons and dragonflies.  The red threads you see are the basting stitches putting the backing, filler and quilt top layers together.  This being a much smaller quilt, I was able to get the sandwich done in just a few hours.  This quilt will also give me a warm up for the larger blue moon quilt.

 
We had a bit of rain early this morning.  Nothing much, but enough to wet the ground and cool the early morning.    Our daytime temperatures have been in the mid to upper 80’s with night-time temps down to the mid to upper 70’s.  So far, the breeze continues through most of the night and day.  When summer is at its height, the temps will reach 90 or more and the wind will die down to nothing.
2 Comments

  1. Love the Disney quilt – very cute. It’s nice that you have a smaller quilt to “practice” on – it might give you some ideas on how to do the bigger one easier.

    I understand poco a poco. I still use that here! It must be how I live my life – lol. The battery room will be helpful. Nice that Doug has Jim to help him. I’m sure they enjoy working together and figuring out how to make it all work.

    Glad the weather is still fairly good. It is almost Carnivales time!!! The antics there still make me smile.

    1. Hate to tell you, my friend, it is almost February! I’ve missed keeping up with my Peruana amiga! Remember the game you made with geometry vocabulary: I have……, who has…..? I’m teaching 5th this week for 4 days, so I made it. They had a good time with it, I think. Certainly made me think of you. Hope all is well. Miss you.

Leave a Reply

