Merry Christmas

I woke up this morning to bright blue skies and a nice breeze.  I didn’t spleep well last night and ended up taking a sleeping pill about 3 am.  No wonder I didn’t get up until 10:30!

Our neighbors built a large fire on the beach last night and lit it about 11:00.  At midnight, they set off fireworks; the kind that go up and blossom out.  I had a great view from my bed!

When I got up and about I went out to check on the generator.  Juana must have turned it on about 9:00 as usual.  I went out and shut it off to fill it with diesel but as soon as I started pouring some in, it overflowed!  I had checked the gauge and it was all the way around to one side….I assumed that meant it was empty.  But, Juana had filled it up before she started it this morning!  Just as I realized this, Juana appeared at the door to the generator room wondering why the motor had sut down.  We had a good laugh and wished each other a Merry Christmas!  I told her she was amazing in how she took care of me.

Then I began my day.  Many people worried about me as I was spending the holiday here alone.  However, I really have enjoy the quiet and non-commercial-ness of it.   I set out a couple of Christmas decorations; nothing elaborate at all…simple.  I played a few carols on the piano and listened to some more on the stereo.    It’s been a peaceful and reflective holiday.

I spent more time on the quilt top and have a good chance of finishing it in the next couple of days.  Then will come the process of quilting.  I’m hoping my machine can handle it all.

I spent time reading by the pool.  Hard to beat!

Merry Christmas to all!

I alsI I

4 Comments

  1. Merry Christmas, my friend! Glad your day was peaceful – after the fireworks display, at least. I was thinking about the quilt and couldn’t find a picture of the whole thing. I’m thinking each of the squares is a day, right? So, how does that work with 31 days in the month?

    I’m doing your “can’t sleep in the middle of the night” routine. Does this happen to you often? Do you know why? I’m on the third night of waking for a significant portion of the night. When you figure it out – let me know, OK?

    Enjoy your peace and quiet! Hugs!

    1. Oh, I am so sorry to hear about your middle of the night routine. I have spent the last three years trying to figure it out.The only time I had it somewhat under control was when I set an exact bed time, took two sleeping pills and set the alarm in the morning, the same time each morning. The sleep doctor told me some things that also seemed to help. If you are awake for more than 20 minutes, you should get out of bed and go to an insomnia bed (for me it was the couch). When you are up during the night, you can do whatever you want, but without any lights…..no computer, TV or reading although I could listen to a tape. I gets hard sometimes…. I’ll have to take another picture of the calendar. It’s in a grid of 35 squares, only 31 of them part of the actual calendar. I’ve started on the rest of the quilt top; think I might have it finished in a few days….then I start the process of actually quilting! Hope your Christmas was wonderful; full of grandchildren, I’ll bet! Too bad you don’t like them very much. Love ya, Karen

    2. One thing I neglected to say is that I suspect much of this is hormonal. When I wake up, I am generally quite hot….you know, those personal summers you told me about?!?

      On Sun, Dec 26, 2010 at 1:05 PM, Karen Lindsley wrote:

      > Oh, I am so sorry to hear about your middle of the night routine. I have > spent the last three years trying to figure it out.The only time I had it > somewhat under control was when I set an exact bed time, took two sleeping > pills and set the alarm in the morning, the same time each morning. The > sleep doctor told me some things that also seemed to help. If you are awake > for more than 20 minutes, you should get out of bed and go to an insomnia > bed (for me it was the couch). When you are up during the night, you can do > whatever you want, but without any lights…..no computer, TV or reading > although I could listen to a tape. I gets hard sometimes…. > I’ll have to take another picture of the calendar. It’s in a grid of 35 > squares, only 31 of them part of the actual calendar. I’ve started on the > rest of the quilt top; think I might have it finished in a few days….then > I start the process of actually quilting! > Hope your Christmas was wonderful; full of grandchildren, I’ll bet! Too > bad you don’t like them very much. > Love ya, > Karen >

  2. Merry Christmas Karen. Peace & Quiet are very nice. Time to reflect. We had a nice quiet Christmas in Redmond also. Have a great New Year. Thanks for putting Peggy’s & my annivarsary on your quilt. We will see what we can do about celebrating our annivasaries together in the near future.

Leave a Reply

