2 October 2010

I spent the better part of the day working on the mural.  I began adding the background using an ultramarine blue which I lighten with white.  The next layer down will be a little bit darker, as will the next layer.   The background will become progressively darker as it gets ¨deeper¨in the water.  The wind was blowing quite hard this afternoon, so working on the wall had its challenges.

I´ve figured out why Peruvians always have a rag in hand and are always wiping things down.  It isn´t because things have been around so long they are dusty; it´s because there is so much dust blowing around, it accumulates every day.  The studio was cleaned yesterday, and yet this afternoon, I swept up another dust pan full of dust!  Some of this will be relieved when we get some landscaping in place.  Much of it, I´m afraid is just the nature of living in the desert.  Thank goodness I have help cleaning!

Some of our landscaping decisions will be driven by the pattern of the wind.  The terrace that runs between the dining room and the master bedroom seems to collect dust everyday.  Even though it is swept everyday, there is always  dust collecting by evening.  We´ll have to plant some hind of hedge behind the buildings to cut off some of the wind and dust.  There are other areas where the dust seems to accumulate and we will plan our landscaping around this to minimize the collection.  We are, however, right on a dirt road.  The traffic on the road always raises dust.  I think we´re going to have to live with it to a degree.

I´m still trying to figure out all the bells and whistles for this blogging site.  Bear with me as I figure them out and modify things.  I would really appreciate it if you would leave a comment so I know you have made the transition to the new site.  I really don´t want to lose anyone, but I do think this will be more reliable.

Thanks again to all of you who read this!  Love you all!!

Leave a Reply

