1 October 2010

I have spent the better part of two hours trying to figure out how to upload photos to this blog.  I finally found out that the photos I was taking on my camera were “RAW” which wasn’t  a format that was compatible with the blog.  I made a few adjustments to the camera and took some more photos.  The last photo finally worked.  I don’t pretend to understand all the ins and outs of photos and their compatibility with one program or the next, but at least I got one photos to load.

The better part of my day was spent at the mural wall.  I drew in some seahorses, another tuna, a sting ray, and another whimsical animal.  (This I will save as a surprise and will show you when it is done!  It’s just too cool to describe!) 

I also painted in the sand in the background.  I used the same color paint as what was used for the rest of the house.  I found one partial can under the water tank and went to work.  Unfortunately, I ran out of paint part of the way through.  I found another can of paint under the water tank, with the same label, so mixed it up and continued.  Unfortuately, the second can was much lighter than the first, so it didn’t all blend in.  I’ve planned on using a sponge to add texture and variation in color.   Hopefully, this will hide the variation in color.

Yesterday, the garbage truck from Los Organos came to pick up stuff.  We had been told he would come and only asked for a tip.  As soon as he arrived, Juana and Sanchez appeared and started sorting through all sorts of things in the laundry room, under the water tank and along the driveway.  The driver’s workers picked up a lot of stuff that was just laying around.  I tipped him S/. 20.

Later in the afternoon, the water truck from El Ñuro showed up.  We filled up the cistern and then added more water to the pool.  Sr. Garavito, the driver, was the one who had connected us with the garbage truck.  I asked him what the normal ¨tip¨ for the garbage truck was.  He told me people in Vichayito were paying him S/. 100 a month.  I figured I hadn´t been very generous with my tip, and asked Sr. Garavito to explain to his friend that we were ignorant foreigners and didn´t know what was appropriate.

Sanchez has been quite ill for the last couple of days.  I took Juana a pot of chicken broth this morning.  She said Sanchez still had a lot of pain in the abdomen and chest, but mostly from the vomiting he had done.  He was sound asleep late in the morning.  Juana said the cramps in the stomach had eased and he was feeling better; just tired.  Juana was supposed to travel to her home town yesterday so she could vote, but delayed her trip to be with Sanchez.

In Peru, all citizens are required to vote in their home town/village.  If they are not home for the election, or choose not to vote, they are accessed a fine.  Georg and his family will be in El Ñuro for the election so both Nathalie and Georg will have to pay a fine.  Sanchez is being asked to stay while Georg is here, so he will also have to pay a fine.

Doug vacuumed the pool and added chemicals as needed in the pool.  Hopefully we will be able to swim tomorrow.  I haven´t felt like swimming for several days after my super-woman flight into the sand, but things are finally starting to loosen up.  Probably the most painful is the bruised boob!

Doug has also been watching his blood pressure.  When he was stung by the sting ray, the doctor also took some blood to check cholesterol and general health screening.  It turned out that Doug´s blood pressure was quite high.  The doctor gave Doug some dietary suggestions for reducing it and has asked that he check his pressure every day.  He has been drinking passion fruit and pineapple smoothies for the last week and has managed to lower his blood pressure.

The doctor who has been ¨manning¨ the clinic in El Ñuro speaks excellent English.  She has a German student living with her and shadowing her for the next three months before she returns to Germany to attend medical school.  The Peruvian government gives her living quarters and a stipend to live on.  None of her patients in El Ñuro pay for medical care, as they all have the government insurance.

Leave a Reply

